Day 2- Jan. 3, 2017

I’m feeling a little tired as I type this at 8pm the end of day 1. I only had one coffee this morning and I don’t have a headache! I can handle those results. I actually remembered to drink plenty of fluids all day(I’m horrible about this) and that probably helped šŸ™‚

I have to share one of my newer loves! It took me a little while for the “bite” in the bubbles but now it is something I can replace my craving for Coke and get those satisfying bubbles! 

Menu time!

First thing in the AM I will wake up with my coffee. I will probably eat 1-2 hours after. It’s partly because I would still be in bed if I had my way! I will also drink water and take my daily Protandim and right now, for this week, I’m also taking the cleanse that comes with the PhysIQ weight loss system. It’s not my first time to take a supplement to cleanse but it is my first time trying this particular one. 

Breakfast: Oatmeal- Rolled oats, water(I just pour it over the oats until they are covered), ground sesame and sunflower seeds, a dash of stevia, little bit of cinnamon. The main thing to avoid is the sugar BUT I will tell you the main thing I learned from Trim Healthy Mama is not to mix your carbs and fats! So this would be a solid E. For my kids I will add butter, a little brown sugar or maple syrup so they have a crossover. It’s important for growing kids to mix fats and carbs BUT we don’t want that same effect šŸ˜‰ 

The MAIN GOAL with my kids’ New Year’s eating is to be without any chemicals. I really want to follow the Feingold diet but I’m going to have to put some of the foods on hold. We are already limiting so much and I can remember the  days when my 8 year-old was able to sit still, not make consant noise, etc. I have hope that our chemical-free diet will help him immensely! I highly recommend checking out Feingold.org

Lunch: Turkey rollup(roll up two slices of good quality turkey with a piece of medium cheddar the size of your pinky finger), cucumbers, carrots, snap peas

Snack: Fruit smoothie with protein powder(see Day 1) I will omit the seeds for a snack. 

Dinner: Hamburger helper- this can be modified to THM by ensuring you use a lean meat šŸ™‚

  • 1lb grass fed ground beef
  • Bag of gluten free pasta- Aldi and Trader Joe’s brown rice and quinoa spiral pasta 
  • Small can organic tomato paste(I buy a case at Costco)
  • 1Tbsp chili powder
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 cup pasta water

Brown the ground beef, drain if needed. Boil the pasta and reserve a cup of the water, then drain when al dente. Add the chili powder, salt, pepper, water and tomato paste to the ground beef. Once it is incorporated, add the pasta and serve immediately. You could also add a little shredded cheddar but go sparingly. 

As I mention cheese, definitely avoid shredded cheese. There are lots fillers! Buy blocks of cheese and grate it on your food. It will also keep you from using too much šŸ˜Š

We also will serve this with a salad. Our salad is romaine lettuce, black olives and your favorite dressing. Use it sparingly. 

Enjoy! I would love to hear how your eating goals are going! Comment below….

Leave a Reply

