Jan. 2, 2017-Day 1

zoolights You can do it!

Happy New Year everyone! I can’t wait to get started and I hope you will join me! Please know that I would love to work with you to find a solution that works for you. Email, call or text me to find what works for you 🙂 Here we go….

Half of this battle is sticking with your plan. I am proclaiming publicly that I will feel great again and I WILL have an amazing testimony to share in 21 days! What would you like to say 21 days from now? Let’s set a goal right now. Post it on your Facebook page, comment below this post, call up a friend and tell them your plans! Whatever you decide to do, make sure you share it. This will give you accountability to follow through with your goals! You need a plan to get there and I am going to share mine. For the next 21 days I will also be posting daily and I will be here to answer any questions you may have.

My personal goal is to eliminate several of the 7 most common food intolerances. These foods include gluten, sugar, eggs, peanuts, soy, dairy, and corn. I have done this before and marked my calendar to when the 21 days would end.  I ate a smoothie or oatmeal for breakfast. For dinner and lunch, I ate a lot of veggies and good sources of meats and I would have rice and beans every so often. You could also eat leftovers for breakfast 🙂 This worked extremely well! If you are interested in doing this, you can also reward yourself with a Chipotle burrito bowl, just avoid cheese or sour cream and no chips! I really loved this as a “treat” when I  didn’t want to eat food at home. Most of my past posts on my blog will be ideas for eating this way. I learned about this diet from JJ Virgin. Check her out 🙂

There are several other diets that I have been learning about and will be incorporating into our family’s routine. I will put links in for blogs that I have discovered and I will mention how to modify your diet to include different diets. Please don’t try to do too much! You could get frustrated and then you may just go back to your old habits. Make small changes, use my blog as encouragement and examples of foods but ultimately, stick with making healthy changes. If you eat something off your plan, start over and make good choices for the next foods you eat. Don’t just throw in the towel!

DAY 1 menu:

Breakfast: First things first, I will drink coffee with a little stevia and collagen. I would be miserable if I don’t have that caffeine since I am so used to it. Taking out coffee will need to come in small doses so I will continue my morning routine. 

Water with supplements(disclaimer: I do take supplements from a company that I receive comission from. You may see info here and there but I am not trying to push it to anyone. If you would like more info please contact me)

Fruit smoothies in the Nutribullet(blender works too)

  • 1/2 cup Frozen strawberries and blueberries(Kroger Organic and Aldi Organic from freezer section)
  • several ice cubes
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened Vanilla almond milk(I definitely recommend trying a non-dairy milk for weight loss and no sugar added to the milk)- this is not an exact measurement. I add more as I blend
  • 2 scoops protein powder(or whatever your serving says)
  • 1 TBSP ground flax seeds
  • 1 TBSP ground pumpkin seeds
  • You could also add yogurt here. If you do not have protein powder, make sure that you are adding things or have your smoothie with another protein source)

Blend until you like the consistency, add a dash of stevia if you need it really sweet. I avoid sugar, even natural sugars in the morning. A lot of people add banana but I have read that it will spike your blood glucose levels so I would eat banana by itself, not with any other foods.

Lunch: Salad

  • Romaine lettuce
  • roast turkey breast(all natural lunch meat. Look for no preservatives)
  • vinagrette or ranch dressing. Trim Healthy Mama diet you would be able to do ranch dressing as long as you don’t have any carbs.

Obviously you could have many combos on a salad. Skip croutons! If you need something crunchy, add carrots, cucumbers, bell peppers, broccoli, etc.

Try to eat as many veggies and greens as you can pack into this lunch and limit your dressing to 1 or 2 Tbsp. Notice I didn’t add lots of cheese….if you NEED it, be sparing with the amount 🙂

Dinner: Chicken, green beans, risotto

I will use a traditional recipe for Risotto using a little butter as my base. I will add a link if anyone is interested. Since we are focusing on being free of the main food allergies and we don’t have an issue with butter, I know my family can use this. If you are trying to avoid rice(THM) you could opt to eat more of the beans and just have a taste of the carbs. You could make a cauliflower dish(fautatoes would work here).

Snacks: drink lots of water! I am doing a cleanse to start my diet and want to cleanse as much junk from my system without adding anything back in so I am avoiding processed foods. If this seems impossible I will try to add more ideas each day. You will crave carbs and sugar! STAY STRONG! Just say no! You can do it!

As for snack ideas, you could have a hardboiled egg, an apple, some celery with nut butter, another smoothie(this is my prefered choice 🙂 or have another meal! 

If you are hungry and you give your body something nutritional you will avoid your cravings. It will take about a week to stop the cravings and withdrawal feelings from processed foods and sugar. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

