Day 4- Jan. 5, 2017

I am happy to report that everyone in our house is doing well on their new eating plans. My kids were driving me crazy, especially my oldest. When you’re in the moment it is really hard to see the problem but I knew the uncontrollable behavior and brain fog he was displaying was not him. He had gotten progressively worse over this school year. When he was little, he was on a fairly strict diet of whole foods and snacks were free of chemicals and preservstives. This year, we began shopping at Aldi and I began buying things I would NEVER buy my kids to eat, like PopTarts and Cheezits. Then the holidays came and he had Halloween candy and that was the major switch. He hadn’t been the same since. Don’t get me wrong, my kids have always been allowed to fully participate in birthday parties and special events, but they have always had problems controlling their bodies afterwards! So today as I type this I am sooo thankful to see the light and my kids returning to normal. 😊

That reminds me, how are you doing? I would love to hear from you! Comment below or on my Facebook page and tell me what changes you are trying this year. 

Today I wanted to mention that it is good to start slow! For me, when I first tried new things, I eliminated all chemicals in our home. I buy a concentrated cleaner from Shaklee that lasts forever and refill spray bottles(no bleach or other harmful chemicals). We don’t use anything with dyes or preservatives. I try to buy organic fruits and vegetables when possible(at least soak them if you have conventional). Our toothpaste is also free of these fake chemicals. My oldest had never had sugar or juice and had cavities so I began investigating. He has been cavity free ever since we made the switch!

So, when I went gluten free, I found this recipe for Cream of Something mix! It has  cornstarch in it, but it’s way better than what you buy in a can😊

Cream of Something Mix

  • 2 Cups Powdered Milk
  • 3/4 Cup Cornstarch
  • 1/4 Cup Chicken Bouillon(buy a good quality one. MSG-free!)
  • 2 Tbsp dried onion flakes
  • 2 tsp Italian seasoning

Add 1/3 cup dry mix to 1 1/4 Cups of cold water in a small sauce pan. Put it on medium heat and continuously wisk until thick. 

Today’s breakfast is leftovers! By Thursday I usually have a decent amount of food and since I roasted a chicken on Monday, we have some extra chicken. I will probably have some broccoli too! I know, it’s not what we think of as breakfast but I will have a smoothie at lunch. 😊 By the way, my kids usually have Nature’s Path Envirokids cereal or Simple Truth Organic cereal. They like it dry or with some unsweetened vanilla almond milk. They like smoothies too but I don’t usually make theirs as a meal, just a snack. 

Dinner- Chicken and Rice Bake

  • Cream of something(follow recipe above)
  • 3/4 cup rice
  • 1 lb. chicken
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp ground bl pepper
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

Preheat the oven to 375F. In a 9×13 baking dish add the cream of something, water, seasonings and rice. Mix them up, then lay the raw chicken across the top. Salt and pepper your chicken, cover with foil and bake for 45 min or until the liquid is absorbed into the rice(it may still look a little wet. Stir a little and check it.) Then uncover the dish, sprinkle cheese on the chicken, and bake for 15 minutes or until it looks melted. 

Sometimes I double the rice portion, sometimes I put frozen peas or green beans in with the rice. My kids aren’t all huge rice eaters so I usually cook my veggies seperate. This dish has saved me many times! Being gluten free and chemical free is my top priority and this dish is delicious. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

